TIIIIIRed…

So this morning I found myself umm lets say ‘dragging ass’…

I didn’t want to get up, I didn’t want to get ready and I certainly didn’t want to drive to work in the pitch black with flurries…

So once I finally got here, I turned on my computer, answered some emails and… well yeah that’s about the extent of the work I’ve done thus far and it’s almost noon…

So in my google reader search I came across this website which actually kinda made my morning: Texts from last night

Made my day!

Oh and I’m supposed to leave my warm comfortable office to go around the plant this afternoon which I am excited about however it’s snowing… and coveralls are not very warm and neither is a hardhat or steel toed boots… I need to figure out how I’m going to go work outside for a few hours and stay warm. Perhaps I will raid the warehouse for winter wear, although it is unlikely that anything will fit properly.

It’s only -10 today so I am obviously being a baby. I will most definitely need a strategy so that I can stay warm this winter because up here temps can reach below -40C for extended periods (weeks!!)

So far working at a Gas Plant I have come to realize the following:

  • I will always be cold. The thermostat is guarded by the guys that obviously run at higher body temps than I do
  • I will always have mud on my shoes
  • Spiders dropping down from the ceiling are normal
  • I know nothing about Farming, including, but not limited to: livestock, equipment, procedures and having to “de-gas” cows that have eaten the wrong thing…
  • My drive to work provides enough adrenaline to last me for the rest of the day. I drink coffee because it tastes good
  • I am the only one that knows what an “E.F.A” is and why we need them in out diet
  • wearing heels around the office is loud and should not be done. Everyone knows it’s you and they also know how many times you have gone to the printer/bathroom
  • Although the guys do not wear anything under their coveralls in the summer, it is not acceptable for you to do the same (not that I would…)
  • You must be fluent in the languages of: Hockey, Football and ATV’s (The first two I have down, the 3rd one not so much)

More realizations to come I’m sure…

~ by Richelle on October 29, 2009.

One Response to “TIIIIIRed…”

  1. Don’t ask me how I know this, but you “De-gas” a cow by a really large sharp object. It saves their life! They are kinda like me because they keep eating until they will die..
    …And I totally hear you on the Thermostat. Working with men sucks – they won’t stop until the whole office feels like a meat cooler.
    I survive only because I have a small heater under my desk. And a heating pad… I suggest you get them.

Leave a Reply

 
