Veggie Delights

My computer has decided to give up on life and so until I get a new (functional) one my blog posts will be short because I’m typing on the iPhone and it gets a little tedious… Also all of my pics from my new camera are trapped on my camera…

So this week Brett and I have decided to try something completely new: Vegetarian meals all week

We usually eat meat with every dinner and out of pure curiosity we want to know what it would be like to not. Also I had bought this book the other day and this is a fantastic opportunity to really try it out. There’s nothing I hate more than buying cookbooks and never using them (even though it seems to happen all the time…)

So today we went to the grocery store and got all the supplies we need for our week full of veggie goodness. Some things I bought that I’ve never cooked with before include: leeks, parsnips and rutabagas

The grocery trip also totalled over $300 which is double my weekly food budget. We can’t seem to figure out why it was so much with exception to the $13 bag of organic almonds I accidentally bought (bulk food gets me every time). I thought that not buying meat would lower the bill, this was not the case. Either veggies are more expensive than I realize or I bought way to much because these dishes are big?

Tonight I’m making vegetable pie with sweet potato topping. My veggies are roasting and the sweet potatos are boiling. It starting to smell pretty good. I’ll post pics tomorrow, here goes nothing!

~ by Richelle on February 21, 2010.

One Response to “Veggie Delights”

  1. That cookbook sounds interesting – looking forward to hearing how you like it!

    Did you have to buy a lot of new things at once? Sometimes I find the weeks I have to stock up on staples, the bill is so much higher!

Leave a Reply

 
